Victorian Curriculum 

Our Curriculum is based on the Australian Curriculum (AusVELS).  AusVELS is the National Foundation to Year 10 curriculum that provides a comprehensive set of prescribed content and common achievement standards, which schools use to plan student learning programs, assess student progress and report to parents.

The MPS curriculum is structured so that English and Mathematics receive the greatest time allocation within the school week. The school has developed a “workshop” approach to Reading, Writing and Mathematics. The programs in the key learning areas reflect DET Guidelines, AusVELS and support materials.

All classes are organised into collaborative planning teams at each year level and this provides our teachers to focus and enhance student wellbeing, curriculum delivery and the daily organisation that is required to run our programs. .

The school and classroom culture is based on the core philosophy and understandings of the TERRIFIC values and promotes thinking as expressed in the schools authentic Inquiry model and the AusVELS Curriculum.


Students are provided with intervention through our MSL learning approach, are challenged to be extended across the year through differentiation of the Curriculum and through the literacy and numeracy activities which are planned at each year level. This occurs by involving our students with a variety of flexible groupings, with inbuilt opportunities for enrichment for every child and continuous and fluid planning by our teachers. Each area of the school has extra staff to assist with and participate in the various groupings to reduce class sizes and teach to a child’s point of need.

Opportunities are provided to our students which are designed to support and enhance the schools Authentic Units of Inquiry. Students are engaged in tasks which stimulate, encourage and support critical thinking at all levels.

A significant feature of the Curriculum are our Specialist Programs which operate for all classes on a weekly basis; Science, Physical Education, The Arts - Music, The Arts - Visual Arts, Mandarin (LOTE) through Immersion of the Arts .

Students from Foundation – Year 6 have a weekly session in our Library where we have a trained Library Technician who supports the classroom teacher with borrowing, returning and specialised focused reading sessions per session. The library is open to all students before, during and after school on Tuesday and Wednesday. The school also hosts an annual book fair to encourage the love of reading across the school.

In addition to these specialists curriculum areas, the school also offers: Intensive Swimming Program (Foundation - Year 4), Intensive Beach Program (Year 5 & 6), Camping Program (Years 3 - 6), Incursion and Excursion ProgramYoga and Dance (Foundation-Year 6) are alternated biannually, Restorative Practice.  
A whole School Musical in Term 3 Choir (Years 3 - 6), Wellbeing Programs and an Instrumental Music Program.

Australian Curriculum (AusVELS)

Moorabbin Primary School provides a comprehensive curriculum based on the Australian Curriculum (AusVELS) and its Authentic Inquiry Program. Inquiry at Moorabbin provides a framework that supports students to become active inquirers and lifelong learners. AusVELS is the National Foundation to Year 10 curriculum that provides a comprehensive set of prescribed content and common achievement standards, which schools use to plan student learning programs, assess student progress and report to parents.

AusVELS incorporates the Australian Curriculum Foundation - Year 10 for English, Mathematics, Science, History and Geography within the curriculum framework first developed for the Victorian Essential Learning Standards (VELS). AusVELS uses an eleven level structure to reflect the design of the new Australian Curriculum whilst retaining Victorian priorities and approaches to teaching and learning.


AusVELS are grouped into the following levels for Primary School:

Foundation            Level 1                   Level 2                   Level 3                   Level 4                   Level 5                   Level 6                  


Physical, personal & social leaning


Discipline based Learning

Interdisciplinary Learning


Students learn about themselves and their place in society. They learn how to stay healthy and active. Students develop skills in building social relationships and working with others. They take responsibility for their learning, and learn about their rights and responsibilities as global citizens.

Students learn the knowledge, skills and behaviours in the arts, English, humanities, mathematics, science and other languages.

Students explore different ways of thinking, solving problems and communicating. They learn to use a range of technologies to plan, analyse, evaluate and present their work. Students learn about creativity, design principles and processes. 


Domains are distinct bodies of knowledge, skills and behaviours within each strand as follows:

Physical, Personal and Social learning
Civics and Citizenship, Health & Physical Education, Interpersonal Development and Personal Learning

Discipline-based Learning
The Arts, English, The Humanities, The Humanities - Economics, The Humanities – Geography, The Humanities - History, Languages, Mathematics and Science

Interdisciplinary Learning
Communication, Design Creativity and Technology, Information and Communications Technology and Thinking Processes


Content descriptions/Learning Focus statements and Achievement Standards/Standards for each domain are organised into dimensions (listed below). The domains that are drawn from the Australian Curriculum are marked by the symbol AC.

Physical, personal & social leaning

Civics and Citizenship
Civic knowledge and understanding
Community engagement

Health and Physical Education
Movement and physical activity
Health knowledge and promotion

Interpersonal Development
Building social relationships
Working in teams

Personal Learning
The individual learner
Managing personal learning


Discipline-based learning

The Arts
Creating and making
Exploring and responding

English AC
Reading and viewing AC
Writing AC
Speaking and listening AC

The Humanities
Humanities knowledge and understanding
Humanities skills

The Humanities – Economics
Economic knowledge and understanding
Economic reasoning and interpretation

The Humanities – Geography
Geographic knowledge and understanding
Geographical skills

The Humanities – History AC
Historical Knowledge and Understanding AC
Historical Skills AC

Communicating in a language other than English
Intercultural knowledge and language awareness

Mathematics AC
Number and Algebra AC
Measurement and Geometry AC
Statistics and Probability AC

Science AC
Science Understanding AC
Science as a Human Endeavour AC
Science Inquiry Skills AC


Interdisciplinary Learning

Listening, viewing and responding

Design, Creativity and Technology
Investigating and designing
Analysing and evaluating

Information and Communications Technology
ICT for visual thinking
ICT for creating
ICT for communicating

Thinking Processes
Reasoning, processing and inquiry
Reflection, evaluation and metacognition