School Council

The School Council consists of fourteen members, comprising eight elected parent members, one co-opted parent members, four elected Department of Education employee members and the Principal. Any parent member may be elected President. Meetings are held on Monday evenings twice a term at 7.00pm at the school.

The School Council is the governing body of the school.  The council plays an important role in school accountability and improvement and endorses all planning, evaluation and reporting documents.

 The function of the School Council is to:

  • Establish the broad direction and vision of the school within the school's community

  • Participate in the development and monitoring of the school strategic plan

  • Develop, review and update school policies

  • Develop, review and monitor the Student Engagement Policy and the School Dress Code

  • Raise funds for school-related purposes

  • Approve the annual budget and monitor expenditure

  • Maintain the school’s grounds and facilities

  • Enter into contracts (e.g. cleaning, construction work)

  • Report annually to the school community and to DET

  • Generally stimulate interest in the school in the wider community

The Council may appoint sub-committees to assist the Council in carrying out its duties and functions. At present, our School Council has Sub-committees for Budget/Finance, Education, Fund Raising, Works and Maintenance and Marketing.

The MPS School Council is responsible for the overall strategic direction of the school. School Council comprises appointed teachers, community members and elected parents current members. The monthly meeting are open and interested parents are always encouraged to attend. There are a number of sub-committees of School Council which are chaired by members of the Council but generally include non-Council members.

Moorabbin Primary School Council has a membership of 14:

  • 8 parents

  • 5 DET employees, which includes the Principal as the executive officer

  • 1 community members

School Council meets at least twice per term currently on Monday evenings. School Councillors have a number of roles and responsibilities they carry out during the course of the year that includes membership of a sub-committee.

School Council subcommittees have been formed to assist in carrying out its responsibilities. These sub committees meet at least twice per term and have set of goals and targets determined by school council and our School Strategic Plan.

Currently our subcommittees are:

  • Works and Maintenance

  • Finance

  • Education Committee

  • Community Engagement

School Council elections are held each year for 4 parent and 2 DET employee positions. The notice of election is advertised through the weekly school newsletter in February of each year. Further information on school council elections can be obtained from the School Communities and Network Unit of DET.

All government schools in Victoria have school councils. They are legally formed bodies that are given powers to set the key directions of a school. In the performance of their role, school councils are able to directly influence the quality of education that the school provides for its students.

Within guidelines provided by the Department of Education and Training (DET), a school council has responsibilities for developing such things as:

  • the school Strategic Plan which sets out the main goals and priorities of the school for three years

  • the school's budget which allocates the available resources to make sure that the plans of the charter and strategic plan are carried out

  • the general educational policy of the school

  • the physical appearance and maintenance of the school's buildings and grounds

  • the student code of conduct which provides a safe and orderly environment for learning

  • an annual report on the school's achievements.

School Council can be contacted directly via email if any parent wishes to raise an issue.


Meetings 2019

Mondays 7.00pm in the staffroom

4th March

20th May

17th June

12th August

16th September

21st October

18th November

9th December - School Council Dinner

School Council Members 2019

President  - Sharon Merrick

Treasurer - Colin Jones

Angela Bligh

Meg Wyatt

Jo Ryder

Martin Shrives

Karen Inman

Debs Moir

Brent Jones

John Dakis

MPS staff

Noxia Angelides

Stephen Leeden

Debra Schmauder

Michelle Samuels